Perhaps I should just take a leap and hope for the best?

I´ve had to reflect over my life today, and tomorrow will be no different. I always plan ahead and I´m perfectly committed to having Japan as the end destination. The big question mark though is everything that lies between that goal and now.

The minimum requirement for a working visa here in Japan is a Bachelor´s Degree. Which leaves me with two options, either I get one here, or I get one back in Sweden.

First of all, if I were to go back to Sweden and finish my degree there, then that would mean that I could have it done within 2 years after ISI. Which means that in a little more than 3 years from now, I could be back here at ISI in Tokyo to brush up on the Japanese as I search for a full time job.

But this year that I´ll be spending here in Tokyo now was never meant to be just that. It was meant to be the first step towards everything that I´ve always wanted. If I were to just pack up and go back to Sweden next year then I´ll feel as if I´ve failed myself, and that is definitely not okay.

The other option would be to study at a University here in Japan, my concern here though is that Swedish Citizens are only allowed to take student loans for a maximum of 240 weeks, and due to my Uni studies from back in Sweden and after ISI, I´ll only have around 125 weeks left. And it´s simply just not possible to squeeze in 4 years at a university into those 125 remaining weeks of student loans. Being limited to 240 weeks is in my opinion a stupid rule, it feels as if they´re against people having dreams.

3 years might be doable, but that would mean that they´d have to validate my courses from my Swedish University, and therefore let me skip the first year and start directly from the second year. Which would be great, but that´s still anif, I´d have to pass some sort of test, and if that test is to test my knowledge of the previously done courses then that would scare me quite a bit.

The one thing that could actually excite me about finishing my studies in Sweden is to apply for an exchange program, and then study the last year abroad. Japan is unfortunately one of those places that are close to impossible to get placed in, but there are other places that I´d probably like, such as China, or maybe Korea.

It´s not really fair how the most logical path towards living in Japan would be to leave.

On another note, I´ll probably bleach my hair and color it pretty light/brunette in the not too far future. & the Photo is from Tokyofaces.com

With Love, Simon~

2 thoughts on “Perhaps I should just take a leap and hope for the best?

  1. Sometimes you need to take a step backwards in order to take two steps forward. Does not mean that you failed, but that you are being logical and creating a plan to reach your goal in the best possible way instead of forcing it. Good luck! If you want it then you will make it happen.

  2. Thankyou, I know that you´re right and that´s probably what I´ll have to end up doing. But it feels more like being forced into it than actually choosing it for myself, which makes me wonder if I´ll ever be happy with it.

Leave a Reply

